Protect ESP Vehicle Eligibility Requirements

When can I purchase a New or Pre-Owned Ford or Lincoln Protect ESP Plan and Extended Warranty Service Plan? What are the eligibility requirements?

For Vehicles Past the Original Factory Warranty

Vehicles not covered by the original factory warranty may also qualify for a Ford Protect ESP Plan and Extended Warranty Coverage A Used Vehicle Inspection Form must be completed by any authorized Ford or Lincoln Dealer Service Center, however, prior to purchasing the used extended warranty.

For Vehicles with An Active Ford ESP Plan

Vehicles currently covered by an active California, Texas, New York, Michigan, Indiana, or Illinois Ford Protect ESP plan that will expire soon are also eligible for additional Ford Protect ESP plan coverage. During the quote process, simply indicate that your vehicle’s “Basic Factory Warranty has Expired” and you will be directed to available Ford Extended Service Plans that start from the purchase date of the warranty.

IMPORTANT: You will want to wait until your current contract is close to expiring based on years or miles, as the extension contract supersedes the active contract on the purchase date. When extending an active contract, a vehicle inspection is not required.

Ineligible Models

Acura: NSX

Audi: A8, R8, R9, R20, S8, Any Model with 8 or More Cylinders

BMW: 6 Series, 7 Series, Alpina, I8, M Series, Z8

Cadillac: V Series, XLR

Chevrolet: Camero ZL1, Corvette 427, Corvette Z06, Corvette ZR1

Chrysler: SRT

Dodge: Challenger R/T Scat Pack, Charger R/T Scat Pack, SRT, Stealth, Viper

Ford: Foose/F-150, GT, Mustang: (Cobra R, All Roush Performance Modified Vehicles (except Stage 1 and Stage 2), Shelby GT 500KR, GTS, Supersnake, Tonka, and Any Other Shelby Performance Modified Vehicles, All Saleen Modified Vehicles, Transit Connect Electric

Honda: Civic Natural Gas, Fuel Cell X Clarity

Jaguar: F-Type, XJ Series, XK Series

Jeep: SRT, TrailHawk

Lexus: F, GS-F, LF-A, RC F

Mercedes-Benz: AMG, CL Class, EQC, G Class, GL Class. GLC Class, Kompressor, S Class, SL Class, SLR Class

Nissan: GT-R

Volkswagon: Phaeton, Any Model with W12 Engine

Ineligible Usage

  • Taxis
  • Performance Modified Vehicles (including Hennessy)
  • 4×2 Equipped Vehicles Modified for 4×4/AWD Capabilities
  • Vehicles Used for Competitive Driving, Racing, Off-Road Use
  • Vehicles with a Voided Warranty, Branded Title, Salvaged Title
  • Fuel Cell Vehicles
  • Incomplete Vehicles (Examples: Chassis Cabs, Cutaways, Stripped Chassis) except Ford, Chevrolet, Dodge, GMC, Nissan, and Toyota
  • Any other vehicles not specifically referenced in the Vehicle IndexCoverage